Nepali Congress Leading in Vote-Count Under FPTP Category of HoR and Province Assembly Elections

Sun, Nov 27, 2022 10:01 AM on Featured, National,

The Nepali Congress is in the top position in the vote count tally in the ongoing counting of votes under the House of Representatives (HoR) and Province Assembly (PA) elections held on November 20.

According to the Election Commission, the results of the vote counting of 155 out of the 165 electoral constituencies under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) category have been announced by 7 am today.

The Nepali Congress tops the vote count, securing 52 seats, the CPN (UML) 41 seats, the CPN (Maoist Centre) 17 seats, the CPN (Unified Socialist) 10 seats, the Rastriya Swatantra Party and the Rastriya Prajatantra Party seven seats each, the Janata Samajbadi Party five seats, the Lokatantrik Samajbadi Party four seats, the Nagarik Unmukti Party three seats and the independents five seats under the FPTP category of the HoR election so far.

The Nepal Workers and Peasants Party, the Janamat Party, and the Rastriya Janamorcha have each won one HoR seat under the FPTP category.

The Election Commission stated that the vote count results of 10 electoral constituencies are still awaited. The delay in announcing the results in these constituencies is because of the delayed vote counting in some constituencies and counting not starting at all in the remaining constituencies.

There has been a delay in the counting of votes in Bajura where the re-voting was held on Saturday. So far, the results of Dolakha-1, Syangja-2, Sunsari-1, 3 and 4, Bajura, Ilam-1, Udayapur-1, and Ramechhap constituencies are awaited.

The vote counting is in progress in seven constituencies. Nepali Congress is leading the vote-count tally in four, the UML in two, and the Rastriya Swatantra Party in one out of these. The vote counting has not yet started in Dolakha, Syangja-2, and Bajura.