Online nomination of ICT Award 2021 begins for 11 different categories; nomination can be filed within Shrawan 16

Wed, Jun 23, 2021 4:26 AM on Latest, Corporate,

The online nomination (application) of the sixth edition of the ICT Award, established as a prestigious award in the field of Information and Communication Technology, has started from today, i.e. Ashar 8, 2078 (accordingly, June 22, 2021). Award nominations in 11 different categories have been opened for the ICT Award 2021 organized by Living with ICT and in collaboration with various government and private organizations.

The online nominations for the ICT Awards 2021 have been opened in view of the declining rates of the second wave of COVID- 19. Despite the postponement of most events during the transition period of the first wave last year, the winners of 12 categories were honored at a special event at the Soaltee Hotel on December 23, 2020, advancing the nomination and selection process of the ICT Awards 2020 through a virtual medium.

Most of the selection committee meetings of this year's ICT Awards will be virtual as well. There are more than two dozen juries and advisors for the ICT Award selection process. Interested individuals, companies, products, or organizations in 11 different categories can apply till 16th Shrawan, 2078. Competitors themselves or anyone else can register online nominations for the award. In order to be nominated for the award, an individual needs to go to the website and select the relevant category and fill the form.

Startup ICT Award, Product ICT Award, Rising Student ICT Award are the awards categories related to innovations and startups. Likewise, Pioneer ICT Award, Nepali Diaspora ICT Award, Entrepreneur ICT Award, and Media Person ICT Award are given to the individuals.

Similarly, the awards given to the government and private organizations include Digital Education ICT Award (Public Sector), Digital Education ICT Award (Private Sector), Digital Governance ICT Award (Public Sector), and Digital Governance ICT Award (Private Sector).

The ICT Awards, which started in 2016, have so far honored more than 50 individuals, organizations, companies, and products in various categories. Last year's Huawei ICT Award 2020 received more than 400 online applications.

This year, to make the selection process of the award more systematic and fair, a jury team of more than 12 individuals will select the winner in different stages conducting different selection processes for 3 months. After 3 rounds of selection in the Startup, Product, Student Star Innovation category, public voting will be conducted by declaring the top 5. Similarly, In the other genres, 4 different stages of virtual selection and field visits will also be conducted.

Award winners will receive various services and facilities with special honors. Winners of Startup, Product, Rising Star categories will also get concessional loan facility and investment opportunity. 

Who will apply in which category of the ICT Award?

To be nominated for the ICT Award 2021, you need to go to the official website and click on Registration, then select the relevant category and submit the required online form.

  1. Startup ICT Award

To participate in this award, which promotes and encourages companies working in the field of IT products, services, and innovation, the company must be registered and operating in accordance with the prevailing laws of Nepal. Companies registered during the last 3 years can apply in this category. Last year, Cryptogen Nepal Pvt. Ltd. was the winner in this category.

  1. Product ICT Award

Nominations for IT and Innovative Products developed by any Nepali company, organization, group, or individual can be registered in the ICT Product Award. Nominations can be registered in this category for the IT products that have been made public from Baisakh 2077 to mid-Chaitra 2078. Last year CPFDS AML & KYC Management System was the winner.

  1. Rising Star Innovation ICT Award

Nominations can be registered for the Rising Star Innovation ICT Award for research, innovation, and projects prepared by college and university students and youths under 30 years of age. Last year, St. Xavier's College's Student 'Sanchai Chhau' won the award in this category.

  1. Pioneer ICT Award

This award is given to a veteran who has made outstanding contributions in the field of information and communication technology. Last year, Nilkantha Upreti was honored with this award.

  1. Nepali Diaspora ICT Award

This award will be given to a person of Nepalese origin who is living abroad by appreciating his / her contribution in the field of information technology of the country. Last year, Nepali Gaurav Raj Upadhyaya working at Amazon received the award.

  1. Entrepreneur ICT Award

Entrepreneur ICT Award will be given to Nepali entrepreneurs active in the field of information technology. Last year, Vinay Bohara, Managing Director of Vianet, was the winner in this category.

  1. Woman ICON ICT Award

The Woman Icon ICT Award is aimed at Nepalese women working in the field of information technology. Last year, Prof. Timila Yami Thapa was honored with this category.

  1. Digital Education ICT Award (Public Sector)

The Digital Education ICT Award is given to the government and community educational institutions with the objective of encouraging the education sector to become digital and technology-friendly. Last year, Budhanilkantha School received an award in this category.

  1. Digital Education ICT Award (Private Sector)

The Digital Education ICT Award (Private Sector) category has been added this year with the aim of encouraging private sector educational institutions as well. Private schools, colleges, and educational institutions will be able to register nominations for this category.

  1. Digital Governance ICT Award (Public Sector)

Successful government agencies, bodies, departments, or municipalities will be able to register nominations in this category by digitizing government services and facilities to provide technology-friendly services to the citizens. Last year, the Inland Revenue Department received the Digital Governance ICT Award.

  1. Digital Services ICT Award (Private Sector)

In this category, private sector organizations, limited companies, or companies serving the public can register nominations. Apart from IT and software companies, other service-oriented private sector companies will also be able to participate in this category, which was added from this year.

Similarly, last year, Covid 19 targeted genre, Ncell Innovation Driven Crisis Response ICT Award was awarded to Paila Emergency Resuscitator. Kiran Acharya and Hamro Swasthya received the Media Person Award and Jury Mention Award 2020 respectively.